Geography and History
Vosburg was named after Mr J Vos and the Van Rensburg family who owned the farm Processfontein. Vosburg was established in 1895, as a new settlement and Dutch Reformed parish was built. Vosburg boasts with more than 22 buildings that are national monuments in the town.
By 1897 Vosburg was granted municipal status and today the town is an important merino-sheep farming centre. The healthy, organic lamb is known as the ‘caviar of the karoo’.
Vosburg has cold winters and hot summers during which rainfall mostly occurs with dramatic thunderstorms. This little village is a true oasis in the Karoo!
Hunters Home Hotel and the church building with their astonishing wood features is a must see!
Hiking: Graskop tel 0536732 ask for 1631; Nuwedam tel 0536732 ask for 1503.
Khoisan Implements: Study Khoisan implements at Mrs van Heerden’s home.
Rock Engravings: Keurfontein farm Tel 0536732 ask for 1911.
Vosburg Museum: An old Karoo-style house museum. Tel 053 675 0021.
Nature lovers and birdwatchers will delight in the presence of gracious birds such as the flamingo, blue crane and black eagle to name but a few. The veldt hosts a wealth of karoo ‘bossies’, succulents and even fern, hidden in the ‘klipkoppies’. Here exceptional and authentic Bushmen engravings can also be found throughout the region.
With large herds of Springbuck the area is a hunter’s paradise in the winter months.
The outstanding clarity of the night skies lends itself to excellent star gazing and astronomy.
Accommodation in Vosburg includes a Hotel, Guesthouses, B&B's and self catering.
|Vosburg Tourism Office Information|
|Telephone:||+27 (0)53 832 2657|